Library Services & Technology Act (LSTA)

The Grants to States program is the largest source of Federal funding support for library services in the U.S. Using a population based formula, more than $150 million is distributed among the State Library Administrative Agencies (SLAAs) every year. SLAAs are official agencies charged by law with the extension and development of library services, and they are located in: 
  • Each of the 50 States and the District of Columbia;
  • The Territories (Guam, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands); and
  • The Freely Associated States (Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Palau, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands).
Each year, over 1,500 Grants to States projects support the purpose and priorities outlined in the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA). (See 20 U.S.C. 9121 et seq.)

Full information can be located at-
State allotments-
Grant opportunities will be listed at-

IMLS Guidance on Reaching Persons with Limited English Proficiency can be located at- 
For more information, email; Library Services and Technology Act Coordinator.